Intel processor naming

Intel Processor naming

I’d describe it in the core2 series because before that, there was no such processor naming system, and now fewer users are using the early 2004 processor. In this article we will discss about Intel Processor naming.

First look at the core i series and get to the core2 series. There are four main processor types in the core i series.

1. Core i3

Under the Core, i series is the i3 processor. Until the 1st gen-7th (20-20), the i3 processor came with 2core / 4thread – 3 / 4MB Cache. But the 8th gen i3 processor has 4cores / 4threads – 6MB cache.

2. Core i5

1st gen-7th gen came as 4core / 4threads. After the 8th gen 6core / 6threads – it is changed to 9MB Cache.

3. Core i7

The Core i7 is the high-end processor set of the Core i series. Until the 1st gen-7th gen came in 4cores / 8threads, the 8th gen was 6cores / 12threads. The 9th gen changed again as 8cores / 8threads.

4. Core i9

Intel unveiled the 8cores + consumer series processor from its core i9 series. There are several categories like 8cores / 16 threads, 10cores / 20threads.

Intel is using four numbers from the 2nd gen when naming the processor of the Core i series. In the 1st gen, there was no systematic way of calling three digits. In processor naming, this method uses to name the core i3, core i5, core i7, corei9 segments. ex : Core i7 4770 .

Core i7 is the first one, so it’s easy to identify. The first number 4 refers to the generation that the processor belongs to. This is a 4th gen processor. The second number denotes which core i series the processor is. In this case, we see 7. This is one core i7. Sometimes the genome changes a little bit. We are usually naming 100-300 core i3, 400-600 core i5, 700-core i7, 900-core i9. Numbers 3 and 4 denote the sequence of each sequence processor, which is 47 (70). Then there’s 47 (90). The clock speed is a bit higher than the 4770 processor.

Besides, the four numbers you have seen have either one or two letters at the beginning of the middle. That letter describes a unique feature of each processor. I’ll explain it in inverse alphabetic order.

1. Y – Extremely Low Power

  • Operates with very low power.
  • Core i7 7Y75 – 1.60ghz @ 7W / 0.6Ghz @ 3.5W
  • Locked – Cannot overclock

2. X – Extreme

  • Core i7 & Core i9 processor.
  • Ex: Core i7 7800X – 6cores / 12threads -8.25MB Cache, Core i9 7900X – 10cores / 20threads – 13.75MB Cache
  • The number of core/threads is very high. Price and power consumption are also high.
  • These are unlocked processors. That means it can be overclocked.

3. XE – Extreme Edition

  • Core i9 processor only.
  • Ex: Core i9 7980XE – 18cors / 36threads – 24.75MB Cache
  • These are unlocked processors. That means it can be overclocked.
  • Cores / threads / cache is above X series.

4. U – Ultra low Power

  • Operates with very low power.
  • Used for laptops.
  • Ex: Core i3 6100U 2cores / 4threads – 3MB Cache

5. T – Low TDP

  • Generally LGA Socket processor but with low power consumption
  • Most common on all-in-one computers.
  • Ex: Core i5 6700T 4cores / 4trheads – 6MB Cache

6. R – High-End Mobile

  • Used only in Intel 5th gen.
  • The other letter H was used.
  • Used for laptops.
  • Performance as well as power consumption, is high.
  • Desktop Processors. Core i7 5770R 4cores / 8threads

7.P – Low Power Intergrated Graphics

  • Desktop Processors.
  • Low powered processor graphics
  • No integrated graphics on 2nd-4th gen P series processors.
  • Ex: Core i5 6402P

8.M – Mobile

  • Only found on Intel Xeon Workstation processors.
  • Used in all-in-one workstation / laptops.
  • Cores / Threads / Cache is quite large.

9.K – Unlocked

  • Overclockable version of a normal processor
  • Ex: Core i7 8700 – locked, Core i7 8700K – Unlocked
  • Core i3, i5, i7 processors.

H – High Performance Graphics

  • Used for laptops
  • Performance and power consumption are slightly higher than desktops
  • Ex: Core i5 7300H

11.HQ – High performance Quad Core

  • Used for laptops
  • This includes the 4core core i5 & i7.
  • Performance and power consumption are still high, though not as high as the desktop
  • Locked processors.
  • Ex: Intel Core i7 7700HQ

12.HK – High Perfomance Unlocked

  • Used for laptops
  • Unlocked processors
  • Ex: Intel Core i7 7820HK

13.G- Intergrated AMD Vega Graphics

  • Built-in AMD Vega graphics.
  • Vega graphics are more powerful than Intel graphics.
  • Cores/threads are slower
  • Ex: Intel Core i7 8809G 4cores / 8threads

14. E- ECC Memory Supported

  • Desktop processors.
  • ECC Memory supports Intel’s workstation memory special.
  • Memory Bandwidth is too much.
  • Ex: Core i3 7101E

G – Pentium Series

  • The letter G indicates the number 4.
  • Ex: Intel Pentium G5400 2core / 4threads
  • N – Celeron
  • Only found on Intel Celeron processors.
  • Very low cores / threads / cache.
  • Ex: Intel Celeron N3050 – 2cores / 2threads – 2MB cache

The core2 series has several main processor types.

1. Core2duo – Dual Core & Upto 6MB Cache. ex: E8400, E6500

2. Core2quad – Quad Core & Upto 12MB Cache> ex: Q9550, Q6600

3. Core2extreme – Quad Core Unlocked & Upto 12MB Cache. ex:QX9660

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *